Crocheted Dishcloth

Friday I finished crocheting an entire skein of yellow yarn into granny squares, and made even more on Saturday. So I knew I wanted to crochet something that whipped up quick for the gratifying feeling of actually finishing something-the feeling that won’t come for many months with this afghan project. [There isn’t anything gratifying about having piles of granny squares taking up space in my living room, even if the colors ARE pretty…]

crochet dishcloth

So I made a dishcloth! I used Lily Sugar’n Cream Twists in Barnboard. Surprisingly it was the first 100% cotton yarn I think I’ve ever used. [Ok, sidenote: I should totally order yarn online, there are sooo many more colors available on yarn companies’ websites than in stores. I may have just set myself on a dangerous path of contributing to my yarn addiction though…] [Ok, side-sidenote: That Lily Sugar’n Cream company has scented yarns! Whhaaaa??]

Anyway, back to dishcloths. I don’t know how practical they are for us to use since we don’t own a washer/dryer and therefore only do laundry about once a month [sorry if that’s gross/TMI. The key is to just own a lot of underwear. 😉 ] This is just a super simple square square-ish shape worked in double crochet. It only took about 20 minutes or less, and was very gratifying. So I’m not sure I really care how practical it is. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts

One response to “Crocheted Dishcloth

  1. I love those, I wish I had more cotton yarn to make more of them. They are most excellent for face-washing. I guess I might need to visit that website and do some habit-fueling of my own. Look what you’ve done!

Leave a Reply

