Granny Square Progress

I’ve been plugging away at my granny squares for a planned afghan(s?). Currently working on Red Heart Super Saver “Gold.” One thing I love about crocheting granny squares is that it uses cheap acrylic yarn. Yarn for knitting garments has gotten so expensive!

red heart super saver gold yarn

Yesterday I made one on the bus on the way to work, and one on the way home. Bundled up in a handknit scarf, handcrocheted (by Britni) mittens, and with a big ball of yarn on my lap, I felt like an abominable yarn lady, similar to the pigeon lady in Home Alone 2. <Sigh>

If you can believe it, that picture above shows 90 granny squares! I’m going for about 200-250 though, and I’m starting to doubt my original colorway. I envisioned it much more orange-y, but its easier to find varying shades of yellow than orange. I currently also have a very light yellow, an orange that is very bright (but looks too similar to the most “orange” one pictured above I think) and red yarn to use. Should I still add in pinks? I can’t exactly double up on the colors because some of them are vintage one-offs. Gah. I tend to overthink these things.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

