Valentines Day Wreath

I wanted to spruce up our house a little for Valentine’s Day, so I decided to make a yarn wreath with felt flowers.  I wish I could hang it on the outside of our front door but doubt yarn could survive the elements, so I put it on the inside of the door instead.

valentines day yarn wreath
I just wrapped a straw wreath with white yarn. Make sure to leave the plastic covering on the straw wreath so the yarn goes on more smoothly. And be prepared…it takes a LONG time to wrap the yarn over and over. I spread it out over a couple days.  Then I used 3 colors of felt (pink, magenta and red) to make the flowers–I cut wavy spirals then curled them up and hot glued them shut. I was going to hot glue them onto the wreath, but decided to just stick them in with sewing pins in case I want to change out the decorations for another holiday–because I do NOT see myself wrapping yarn around another wreath frame anytime soon! Then I just hung the wreath on some cute ribbon. Total cost was under $3 since I already had the white yarn.

xoxo, emma

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

