Granny squares

Remember my first crochet project…the square? [Surely you do…it was like 3 weeks ago!] Well I took that whole “square” thing and ran with it.

granny squares

I am a granny square making machine. Using a bunch of my 75 cent yarn from Deseret Industries (my new favorite thrift store, sorry Value Village), I’m hoping to eventually complete an entire blanket. Its amazing how fast these little grannies whip up! I can make a few during each movie (or more likely, X-Files episode) that we watch. The colorway I’m envisioning is a mix of all different oranges with some pink/red/yellow hues thrown in for good measure. But what color should surround all the squares? I don’t want white or black, I’ve been thinking a dark smoky gray but not 100% set on that. Any suggestions?

Deseret Industries yarn

Pictured above are the yarn skeins I got for 75 cents each, they had tons more, but I felt guilty acquiring all that yarn at once [even at such a cheap price]…though now I wish I had bought them out!

xoxo, emma

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts

3 responses to “Granny squares

  1. What about a nice cream color?
    You’re going to have to teach me how to whip those up 😉

  2. Pingback: In the queue | PDX Pursuit

Leave a Reply

