Christmas wreath DIY

I had never made a wreath before this year and there are probably way more specific instructions out there on how to make them…but this is how I cobbled together this cheerful little guy on my front door.

It’s so simple really! Bend a wire hanger (free from your closet or in my case my friend Rosie’s closet because I have a weird aversion to wire hangers and don’t keep any in my house…) into a circle. Bonus, it even comes with its own hanging apparatus if you don’t have a wreath hanger. Clip off branches of a tree (free from outside, or free from the ReBuilding Center in my case) into about 6 inch lengths. Fasten them around in a circle to your hanger using floral wire ($1.50 from Jo Ann’s and I have enough left to make approximately 47 more wreaths). Fill in wherever you see fit, it helps to hang your wreath on a door knob while you work so you can step back and assess your wreath situation. Add a bow (or pine cones or glittery poinsettias or ornaments…) with whatever ribbon you have laying around (or pick some up for $1 at Jo Ann’s like me). And there you have it, my $2.50 wreath-I had been shopping around for wreaths before I made this and planned to buy the $10 Trader Joe’s version, the cheapest I could find. But ha! DIY to the rescue (of my bank account) yet again.

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Decorating

3 responses to “Christmas wreath DIY

  1. Hey let’s have a craft day soon! I can show you how to make a CANDY WREATH! It’s amazing 😉 and we can totally use up that wire you have left.

  2. like this one, but better. because it will be ours. I mean, mine will be mine and yours will be yours. We don’t have to share custody of the candy wreaths.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes-and-cooking/door-prizes/index.html

    (i know how to do the one at the bottom of the page)

Leave a Reply

