Thrift Store Afghans

I headed out to Value Village for my first time today.  Little did I know, on Monday everything with a yellow tag is only 99 cents!  I picked up two of the most beautiful hand crocheted afghans. If anyone has tips on how to wash them I would appreciate it.  Probably will just throw them in the washer on a cold cycle since they’re made of acrylic yarn.

Rainbow afghan

It makes me a little sad knowing that someone worked so hard on these beauties and now they are selling for only 99 cents!  But I take solace in the knowledge that I will love them and get lots of use out of them… I’m one of those people that always has a blanket on my lap when I’m at home, and even at friends houses sometimes!  My friend Rosie jokes that i use her throw blankets more than she does.

Stella on purple afghan

Of course Knitty Kitty had to check it out right away to see if she approved.

Kody on purple afghan

Not so fast!  Introducing Knitty Kitty/Stella’s new younger sister, Kodiak.  We adopted her a little over a month ago, and after a couple terrible weeks of sickness she is fitting in wonderfully at our house.  She already claimed the purple blanket as her own.

afghans

I just love the iPhone Hipstamatic app!  Did you see how in the newest (August 2010) issue of Martha Stewart Living they used Hipstamatic for their article on old-fashioned bikes?  Love!

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts

One response to “Thrift Store Afghans

  1. Pingback: Craft To Do List « PDX Pursuit

Leave a Reply

