How does your garden grow?

The Portland sun and rain is doing wonders for our garden and I couldn’t be more excited.  I can’t wait to harvest and cook with our homegrown fruits and veggies.  (Picked an almost-done green onion today and tried to eat it raw….I don’t recommend it).

Squash Blossoms: these were taken a few days ago and already there are a handful more blooms.

Squash Blossoms

These peas were among many volunteers in my friend’s garden that I dug up and brought home. I thought they were sweet peas, but don’t those have white flowers? hmm..

pea blossoms

And of course, where would I be without my handy helper, Knitty Kitty?  She diligently hunts the various bugs and eats them.  It is part of her reparations for eating all of my leek starts earlier in the season!  (In her defense, they did look an awful lot like her cat grass that she is ALLOWED to eat…)

stella in the garden

I can hardly believe that my garden is blooming, when it all used to look like this:

indoor sprouts

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

Leave a Reply

