Carrying Yarn

I read this post about strangers bonding over knitting in a San Francisco park despite age, cultural and language barriers, and thought it was the sweetest thing (I may have even cried, but I’m not telling).  However, the one thing that really stuck with me was the mention of keeping unused colors tightly wrapped around the edge…I realized that I’d never knit with more than one color yarn before!  I had used self-striping, multi-colored yarn but that was the easy way out.  It was time to learn to “carry yarn,” also known as “stranding.”  Luckily, it was easier than I thought!  Basically, you just wrap the color you are switching to around the color you just finished using.

Here is a video from Lion Brand Yarn showing how to simply carry yarn which really helped me.

Ribbed scarf

And this is my scarf so far (I say “so far” because I need to go buy more yarn to make it longer).  It’s knit with a simple ribbed pattern: Row 1&2: K2 P2 (28 stitches) in 1st color.  Row 3&4: K2 P2 in 2nd color. Thats it!  This is the thickest yarn I’ve ever used, and it knits up so quickly.  Sometimes a really quick project with fast results is just what you need to feel accomplished. 🙂

UPDATE: I’m really not exaggerating when I say the cat thinks any craft I do is made just for her.  (Hence her nickname Knitty Kitty…she comes running whenever I start crafting and will watch me knit for hours).  See photo evidence of my one-eyed, cactus-haired little monster below:

Stella's new scarf

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts

3 responses to “Carrying Yarn

  1. Pingback: Craft To Do List « PDX Pursuit

  2. Pingback: In the queue | PDX Pursuit

  3. Pingback: Infinity Scarf | PDX Pursuit

Leave a Reply

