Craft inspiration

A string of houseguests, events and putting in more hours at work have meant that I haven’t had as much time as I would like for craftiness.  I’ve slowly been plugging away at some cross stitching though (of course) so I will have pictures of that to show you soon.

Meanwhile, here are some crafty projects I’ve seen around the blogosphere that I want to tackle:

BEADED DOLPHIN WHALE

Just what is a dolphin whale? I couldn’t tell you, but I do want to make a few of these for our guest bathroom which is decorated with a whale painting I did AGES ago.  The whole bathroom is a mix of dark jewel-toned purples and blues [yes, my l0ve for all things rainbow and bright-colored means I'm terrible at having restraint when it comes to color in interior design, but frankly I couldn't care less ;) ]  I’m thinking I’ll bead a few up and hang them from a piece of driftwood, like a mobile.

TIN CAN TEALIGHT HOLDER

I just think these tealight holders are so cute, and would make perfect Christmas gifts [yes, I am already thinking about Christmas! I blame it on the changing seasons, all I can think about is Halloween and Christmas.  I definitely plan on making all my Christmas crafts soon, because who knows how long it will take me to prepare our first little Christmas in our tiny Portland house--also our first Christmas where we are too far away to visit family :( ] And if you haven’t seen the blog What I Made you must check it out right away…it is run by a crafty GUY named Scott and is chock-full of crafty inspiration.

STICKER WREATHS

Thanks to my lovely mother [who not only fostered a love of crafts and creativity in me throughout childhood but continues to this day to enable me in filling up my craft room with a bazillion craft supplies] I own both the Martha Stewart circle cutter and flower stickers needed to make these lovely paper sticker wreaths.  Yes I know that this craft is aimed for children, but in my eyes Ms. Martha can do no wrong…I want to make one of these wreaths for the door of my craft room.  Heck, I want to make one for the door to every room in my house!

That’s all for now, ta-ta!

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

